Get the help you need to ace your exams

Exam Owl gets you answers to your questions through a community of students just like yourself. Improve your performance on a variety of a variety of tests including AP, IB and standardized tests with a suite of test prep tools and community resources.

Ace your next exam, sign up below.

Communitycommunity Toolstools Resourcesresources

returnDifferences between Old and New SAT?

# of Responses: 7

Posted 2 months ago by IgorBogdanoff

I graduated HS in 2016, so I think I was one of the last groups of people to take the Old SAT. IIRC I got a 2010. Now, I don't intend on taking it again now that I'm in college, but I was just curious about the differences on the exam. Like, I know about the point difference, but I want to know if there is any significant content differences? More/less math, harder/easier reading comprehension questions, etc.

This was posted earlier but one important difference is the removal of the penalty for getting a wrong answer. This pretty means guessing is completely fine. This should also increase scores and make it a little easier. However I read they made the sections more In depth which balances it out. The essay is now optional but you have like 50 minutes to do it so it's a bit more serious.

Posted 2 months ago by formerIBstudent

Well that's interesting. I kinda wonder if I missed out on that now, but ah well.

I wish I had had the opportunity to take both and compare.

Posted 2 months ago by renaime

New one has sections that are more in depth and a longer essay (though it's optional). However, there are no more penalties for guessing (incorrectly).

Posted 2 months ago by tcme

Well that's interesting. Looks like they tried to make it more like the ACT with the optional essay and lack of guessing penalties. I kinda wonder why tbh.